In Memoriam

In memoriam Jürgen Geise  († 09.01.2011)

On Sunday, the 9th January 2011, the founder of the Mühldorfer Summer Academy Prof. Jürgen Geise has died after a long illness.

Jürgen Geise studied at the Vienna Academy with R. Odnoposoff and with Franz Samohyl, whose assistant he became later. He continued his studies with Max Rostal and Sandor Vegh. He was a founding member of the “Vienna Soloists”, the “Austrian string quartet” and the “String Quintet Mozarteum.” From 1973 to 2007 Jürgen Geise was professor of violin, viola and chamber music at the University of Music and Dramatic Arts “Mozarteum” in Salzburg. About many years he led the chamber orchestra “Collegium Iuvenale Salisburgense” (CIS), which exercises regularly performs with its own chamber music series in Salzburg. Jürgen Geise promoted talented young artists; a large number of his former students occupied senior positions in international elite orchestras or is teaching at conservatories. Jürgen Geise worked as a jury member at numerous international competitions.

In 2003 he founded together with his former student, the Mühldorfer music headmaster Thomas Breitsameter the Mühldorfer Summer Academy, which has evolved as an internationally renowned master courses for strings and chamber music, where every year 40 to 50 participants from all over Europe and Asia participate.

The Mühldorfer Summer Academy loses  with Prof. Jürgen Geise an outstanding artistic personality, whose tireless work has significantly contributed to the success of the overall project “master classes for music in Mühldorf”.

In Memoriam Martin Hornstein († 27.10.2009)

On Tuesday, 27.10.2009, cellist Martin Hornstein has died completely unexpectedly at the age of 54 years.

Martin Hornstein studied at the Vienna University of Music and the Juilliard School in New York. While still a student began Hornstein his concerts as a soloist and chamber musician, touring in Europe and Japan. From 1985 to 1993 he was a cellist in the Vienna Schubert Trio and Trio from 1994 to 2004 member of the Altenberg Trio Vienna. In these formations, he was far more than a thousand concerts in all the major music centers of the world, including Teatro alla Scala in Milan, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, at the Salzburg Festival, London’s Wigmore Hall, the Chamber Music Festival Lockenhaus, at the “styriarte” Graz and through regular subscription concerts of the Society of Friends of Music in Vienna.

From 2005, the musical partnership with pianist Janna Polyzoides took a lot of space. Among the many performances of the duo in 2006 was also a sonata recital in the Brahms Hall of the Vienna Musikverein. The collaboration with the lyricist Semier Insayif led to many appearances with the solo suites by Bach and poetry and prose of the author. Hornstein was a lecturer of the International Music Festival  Bad Leonfelden and the Mühldorfer Summer Academy and initiated a chamber music class at the Vienna Conservatory.

Martin Hornstein conducted from 2006 to 2009 the master class for cello and chamber music at the Mühldorfer Summer Academy. He was equally loved and appreciated among the students and faculty to share his immense knowledge and skills, without taking itself into the foreground. The Mühldorfer Summer Academy loses a good friend, a great musician and a brilliant music teacher.

In Memoriam

In memoriam Jürgen Geise  († 09.01.2011)

Am Sonntag, den 9. Januar 2011 ist der Gründer der Mühldorfer Sommerakademie Prof. Jürgen Geise nach schwerer Krankheit verstorben.

Jürgen Geise studierte an der Wiener Akademie bei R. Odnoposoff und bei Franz Samohyl, dessen Assistent er später wurde. Weitere Studien folgten bei Max Rostal und Sandor Vegh. Er war Gründungsmitglied der “Wiener Solisten”, des “Österreichischen Streichquartetts” und des “Streichquintetts Mozarteum”. Von 1973 bis 2007 war Jürgen Geise Professor für Violine, Viola und Kammermusik an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst “Mozarteum” in Salzburg. Über viele Jahre leitete er das Kammerorchester “Collegium Iuvenale Salisburgense” (CIS), das eine rege Konzerttätigkeit mit einer eigenen Kammermusikreihe in Salzburg ausübt. Jürgen Geise förderte begabte Nachwuchskünstler; eine große Anzahl seiner ehemaligen Schüler besetzt Führungspositionen in internationalen Eliteorchestern oder lehrt an Musikhochschulen. Professor Jürgen Geise war als Jurymitglied bei zahlreichen internationalen Wettbewerben tätig.

Im Jahr 2003 gründete er zusammen mit seinem ehemaligen Schüler, dem Mühldorfer Musikschulleiter Thomas Breitsameter die Mühldorfer Sommerakademie, die sich zu einem international beachteten Meisterkursangebot für Streicher und Kammermusik entwickelt hat, an dem jedes Jahr 40 bis 50 Teilnehmer aus ganz Europa und Asien teilnehmen.

Die Mühldorfer Sommerakademie verliert mit Prof. Jürgen Geise eine herausragende künstlerische Persönlichkeit, dessen unermüdlicher Einsatz maßgeblich zum Gelingen des Gesamtprojekts „Meisterkurse für Musik in Mühldorf a. Inn“ beigetragen hat.

In Memoriam Martin Hornstein († 27.10.2009)

Am Dienstag, den 27.10.2009 ist der Cellist Martin Hornstein völlig unerwartet im Alter von 54 Jahren verstorben.

Martin Hornstein studierte an der Wiener Musikuniversität und der Juilliard School in New York. Noch während des Studiums begann Hornstein seine Konzerttätigkeit als Solist und Kammermusiker mit Tourneen in Europa und Japan. Von 1985 bis 1993 war er Cellist des Wiener Schubert Trios und von 1994 bis 2004 Mitglied des Altenberg Trios Wien. In diesen Formationen gab er weit Über tausend Konzerte in allen wichtigen Musikzentren der Welt, u.a. im Teatro alla Scala Mailand, im Concertgebouw Amsterdam, bei den Salzburger Festspielen, Wigmore Hall London, beim Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus, bei der „styriarte“ Graz und im Rahmen regelmäßiger Abonnementkonzerte bei der Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Wien.

Ab 2005 nahm die musikalische Partnerschaft mit der Pianistin Janna Polyzoides breiten Raum ein. Unter den zahlreichen Auftritten des Duos war 2006 auch ein Sonatenabend im Brahmssaal des Wiener Musikvereins. Die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Lyriker Semier Insayif führte zu vielen Auftritten mit den Solo-Suiten von J. S. Bach und Gedichten und Prosatexten des Autors. Hornstein war Dozent der Internationalen Musiktage Bad Leonfelden und bei der Mühldorfer Sommerakademie und leitete eine Kammermusikklasse am Konservatorium Wien Privatuniversität.

Martin Hornstein leitete von 2006 bis 2009 die Meisterklasse für Violoncello & Kammermusik im Rahmen der Mühldorfer Sommerakademie. Er war bei den Studierenden und Dozenten aufgrund seiner Fähigkeit, sein immenses Fachwissen und Können weiterzugeben, ohne sich dabei selbst in den Vordergrund zu stellen, gleichermaßen beliebt und geschätzt. Die Mühldorfer Sommerakademie verliert mit ihm einen guten Freund, einen großen Musiker und einen genialen Musikpädagogen.